On the Upswing!

Okay so the past couple weeks have been pretty rough. Brighton is so rad, but we need to turn things around here. Honestly it’s had me a little down for a few weeks, but this week is going to be our best week together and maybe our last week as it is week 6 of the transfer. So we are gonna make the most of it. I’ve realized I have no reason to be down if we are doing all we can to make the work progress in a very real way yesterday. Because I got a call yesterday from Elder Urianza because John C (the Investigator we found like 3 transfers ago) is getting baptized this week and I’m taking a trip back to Wash Park to see his baptism! SO STOKED!

The Brighton District

The Brighton District

I also went on exchanges with Elder Dana this week! It was so awesome to be with my MTC comp again for a day. We went and did service at Barr Lake and cut Russian Olive trees down. It was hot, sweaty and a great work out. After we went and taught a recent convert and read the Book of Mormon with him. He’s a really great guy and The Gospel has been a really great thing for him in his life. He’s super rad.

I have found a lot of fulfillment in talking with the teacher age to prospective missionary aged young men and trying to get to know them and help them see the importance of serving a mission. I know the missionaries played a big part in my life so I hope the Lord can use me to influence them in a similar way. 🙂

Other than that It’s been a long week. Although I’ve been down, like The sons of Mosiah this is all I can do… 

9 And it came to pass that they journeyed many days in the wilderness, and they fasted much and prayed much that the Lord would grant unto them a portion of his Spirit to go with them, and abide with them, that they might be an instrument in the hands of God to bring, if it were possible, their brethren, the Lamanites, to the knowledge of the truth, to the knowledge of the baseness of the traditions of their fathers, which were not correct.

10 And it came to pass that the Lord did visit them with his Spirit, and said unto them: Be comforted. And they were comforted.

11 And the Lord said unto them also: Go forth among the Lamanites, thy brethren, and establish my word; yet ye shall be patient in long-suffering and afflictions, that ye may show forth good examples unto them in me, and I will make an instrument of thee in my hands unto the salvation of many souls.”(Alma 17:9-10)

The invitation is the same whoever the Lord is speaking to at the time, Fear not “…Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.” (Matt 4:19) As we put our faith and trust in the Lord and reach for his hand that is stretched forth to us, He WILL give us the strength and the capacity to do what ever it is he is asking us to do. He will change us and mold us into what he needs us to be so we may be able to accomplish the things he has commanded us to do.

12 Yea, I know that I am nothing; as to my strength I am weak; therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, for in his strength I can do all things; yea, behold, many mighty miracles we have wrought in this land, for which we will praise his name forever.” (Alma 26:12) With the Lord we can do all things, as we rely on him to carry and strengthen us. We have no reason to fear and we have no reason to doubt. And we have every reason to stand up for truth and righteousness. The Lord doesn’t need any fence sitters, he needs us to serve with our our heart, might, mind and strength. He needs us to prepare the earth for the Second coming of the Lord! He needs us to stand together and establish His Zion. Missionary work, Family History, Personal Spiritual Nourishment, Ect. you’ve heard it all before. Let us stand together and Glorify our Father in Heaven in fulfilling his purpose, “To bring to pass the Immortality and Eternal Life of man.”

Love you all,

Elder Rusick

 

Leave a comment