Round 2 in Brighton

Hey everyone!

I didn’t get transferred! YAY! Neither did my companion, Elder Osborne! Yay! I’m pretty stoked to be here and to be able to work with him again. Lot’s of people went home this transfer, It’s crazy! A lot of role models are going home soon… I really don’t know what to talk about this week… other than it hard work being a missionary, and it’s been another rough week, although we aren’t seeing a ton of success it’s not bringing my spirits down. We had a district tract in our area this week and we got a few return appointments set up for this week, so I know we will see some miracles from that.

So this week I was thinking a lot about Pioneers in my own time, also what a modern day pioneer is. And the first thing that comes to my head when I think of pioneers is the early saints and the DU Lacrosse team (they are the Pioneers). How they Packed up left everything they knew behind, all on the word of the Lord. Everything they did, every change and every trial they did it all because the Lord said so. Then I thought, “Hey Nephi and his family did the same thing, so did the Brother of Jared!” Then I though of Missionaries they do the same thing, they leave everything they know behind because the Lord wants them to (not comparing myself to Nephi or the Brother of Jared). Then I realized a Modern day Pioneer is simply a Disciple of the Lord, Jesus Christ. Someone who has faith in Jesus Christ and is willing to change, willing to leave their comfort zone, willing to be courageous, willing to do whatever it takes to follow the Lord. Why? Because, because it is the will of the Lord, and He has prepared a way, “And it came to pass that I, Nephi, said unto my father: I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth them.” (1 Nephi 3:7) A Modern day pioneer is willing to submit to the will of the Lord in all things. What the Pioneers leaving everything behind symbolizes is found all through out the scriptures. “Therefore they did forsake all their sins, and their abominations, and their whoredoms, and did serve God with all diligence day and night.” (3 Nephi 5:3) This has really helped me and Jesus is the Christ, we all have great potential because we are children of God, Through Jesus Christ we can achieve that potential. The worth of EVERY soul is great in the sight of God.

Love you all,

Elder Rusick

Leave a Reply

