Don’t Worry, Be Happy

Hey Everyone!

I’m so excited for this coming week! It’s gonna be SICK! Mom thanks for those packages.

So this week we had an awesome lesson with Netaw while I was on exchanges with Elder Vaoifi. (the 13 year old kid from Thailand). The family is originally from Burma so they speak Karen. Netaw is the only English speaker in the house. They don’t have any furniture for sitting and laying (chairs, beds, couches), all they have are these matts woven out of some sort of straw that we sit on when we go. It’s cool. But anyways, we brought the Bishop’s son with us to Netaw’s house, because he’s just his age. And Netaw had read what we assigned him to read out of the Book of Mormon. Basically the standing commitment we have with him is to read a chapter out of the Book of Mormon stories book and read each of the actually references out of the Book of Mormon and Pray about it and tell his family what he read. It’s really cool and his family still enjoys having us over. But we read out of the Book of Mormon (and BoM stories) with Netaw to teach him the doctrine of the lessons. He told us at the end of the lesson that he loves reading the Book of Mormon because it makes him happy. We testified that it was the Holy Ghost telling him it’s true. He’s such a cool kid.

IMG_1151 This is Elder Vaoifi and me. He’s on scholarship for the University of Utah. He’s a running back. Catch him on ESPN in like 2 years.

We had a really cool experience as a Zone also. I told you all I’d tell you more about “One Love.” One love has been launched in The Mighty Aurora Zone as of Saturday. We all met together as a Zone and talked about unity and love and had a very spiritual experience. Which is a why “One Love” is our zones motto this transfer. I know it’s a Bob Marley thing, but that’s partly why it’s so cool. Charity is the pure love of Christ  and we are nothing without that love. We are one in our love for God, each other and those we serve in the Mighty Aurora Zone. that’s why One Love is our Motto. (And yes I’ve gotten a lot of flak, people say, oh a surf bum from California must have come up with that one.) But then after the really awesome powwow we had, we went and blitzed Colfax as a Zone. (Colfax is the most famous and Ghetto street in all of Colorado (it’s where Dawg the Bounty Hunter did most of his show). (it’s really not that bad though coming from California)

We had a really awesome week and next week is gonna be really good too! Something I learned this week is that I was kinda falling into a trap lately. That trap was telling myself and others… “I’ll do MY best.” Lame. Lame, lame, lame, lame. Nephi’s example was: “I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth them.” Nephi 1:3-7

He confidently said, I’ll do it. Never did he say I’ll do “MY” best. I realize that “MY” best is not enough. I am an imperfect and mortal being, I am fallen man. And I am not saying we don’t have to exert our best efforts, but I am saying it won’t be enough. Ammon tells us

“Yea, I know that I am nothing; as to my strength I am weak; therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, for in his strength I can do all things; yea, behold, many mighty miracles we have wrought in this land, for which we will praise his name forever.”

Nothing is impossible for 2 people to do if 1 of those 2 people is the Lord. If the Lord is our strength what reasons have we to fear? What reasons do we have to not have confidence in what we are doing? Lol, non.

The Lord is my strength, He is the reason these miracles are possible. And I will praise his name for ever for it.

Love you all

Elder Rusick

Leave a Reply

