Busy, Busy, Busy Week

Hey Everyone!

It’s been a pretty great week! I’ve been wearing short sleeves almost all week until yesterday and now I’m back in short sleeves today. The weather is so weird here. But Elder Bassett and I were really busy this week. We went on 4 exchanges and 3 of them were back to back… Crazy! We actually spent more time away from each other this week than with each other…haha. I never thought I’d say that about my companion on a mission.

unnamed[3]

Zone P-day Bonfire in Strasburg

It was really cool though, I got to go on an exchange with Elder Wipfler! He was my first District Leader back in Denver and also the first person I ever went on an exchange with. It was super fun. I’m gonna miss him, He goes home in 2 weeks. I also went On an exchange with Elder Pinedo, the Spanish DL, He’s from Anaheim/ Costa Mesa/ Santa Ana, We are gonna hit the surf together a lot when we are both home. We saw a ton of miracles working together that day. Elder Urianza (one of my old companions) went on an exchange with me in his area. It was nice to be back on bike for a day. Also Elder Sueng and I went on an exchange this week and we saw a ton of miracles. It was so cool!

When I was with Elder Pinedo, we saw Melenie (Jeremy’s roommate) and when we met her in the past she was super disinterested. But we knocked on her door and she answered and she started telling us about how she never read any of the Book of Mormon we gave her, but she’s will to give it a try now. Her Ex-Husband told her he is taking there kids to a Mormon church and she flipped, but she calmed down and decided she needs to try it out. We set her on Baptismal date right there in her doorway for February 21st, but she didn’t show up to church this week (probably because the same reason no one showed up to church this week (the random half a foot of snow that just appeared that morning) so we are gonna have to push it back like a week. You can tell her heart has just been totally changed. She is already a different person and all she did was decide she would try it out and act in faith and puut it in the Lord’s hands.

Elder Wipfler and I met a guy (Dale) the next day that kinda told us not to come back, but I felt prompted, so we went back. And Dale was pretty impressed that we decided to come back even though he told us not to, so he let us in and we testified and testified and tried to understand where he was coming from more and his heart was softened. He is going to start meeting with us regularly now. He really wants to know and experience God working in his life. It should be pretty great if he really gives the Lord 100% like he says he will.

Elder Sueng and I had an Awesome lesson with a Marshallese lady Lori (we’ve been meeting a ton of Marshallese lately), It was so cool. She was a referral from the Spanish Missionaries. She told us that she had watch a movie about Joseph Smith on tv and called Church HQ to get some missionaries and no one came… (the referrals admin in Church HQ is really slow… Grr) She was very disappointed and decided to give up. We came and taught her and it was so AWESOME! She felt the spirit and she feels like it’s true. She said she had goose bumps when we recited the First Vision, we assured her that it was the spirit telling her it was true. She accepted baptism but not a date because she’s leaving town. But she’ll be baptized I’m positive. Then they fed us like SOOOO SOOO MUCH Marshallese food. It was so good. I felt like I was in the Marshal Islands being in their house…. trust me… we ate with our hands, they don’t own silverware haha. it was so cool!

Elder Basset and I were able to take out one of the Youth with us. He’s from Tonga, his name is Vita. He’s so cool… (it kinda reminds me of… Me and Keli’i just reverse) But he came with us to like 4 appointments, and he helped us a ton. We found 3 new people to teach with him and He was STOKED! Before we went in to see Allen, ( a new guy, from Congo) we told him that he was going to place the Book of Mormon and bear testimony of it. it was perfect. Allen told us he had been avoiding us, but he felt like god told him not to o church that day and so he was expecting something. We knocked on his door and he was a little put off, but he let us in and he really opened up and testified how the gospel could bless his family and testified of the restoration, that’s when Vita came in and testified he would know through the Book of Mormon, and gave it to him. Allen was in tears, And I invited him to be baptized and he excepted and is set for the 28th of February. So So So Stoked. The Lord is really preparing people to receive this Gospel. This has been one of the greatest weeks of my mission. I’m so excited for Vita that he could have that experience too, he will never forget that.

I testify that Miracles are real and that there are no such things as coincidences. “29 And because he hath done this, my beloved brethren, have miracles ceased? Behold I say unto you, Nay; neither have angels‍ ceased to minister unto the children of men…(37)  it is by faith that miracles‍ are wrought; and it is by faith that angels appear and minister unto men; wherefore, if these things have ceased wo be unto the children of men, for it is because of unbelief, and all is vain.” Moroni 7

If you want something that is the will of God, if you have a righteous desire, if you have a question to ask God then DO IT! Through the Power of Christ we can do all things!

Love you all,

Elder Blake Rusick

Leave a Reply

