Two Words … Elder Bednar

Well, this week was killer. I have pictures, but I’m at the mercy of other Elders sending them to me before I have to sign off. To start off, Elder David A. Bednar of the quorum of the 12, Elder Craig C. Christensen of the presidency of the 70, Elder James B. Martino of the 2nd quorum of the 70 along with other area 70’s all visited our area this week. It was great! We got together as a an entire mission, other missionaries from the Denver South Mission got to come as well. It was so cool! I got to see Elder Nick Austin! 😀 And Sister Gregerson! It was weird, really, really weird! A blast from the past really. It was good to see they are doing well though.

When Elder Bednar walked in and the spirit changed you could immediately feel a change in the room. He truly is a special witness of Jesus Christ, it is very apparent in his countenance. The way he conducted the meeting is not the way you’d expect, but he taught us all. He asked us our opinions and we were all very involved in the meeting and we were all learning by the spirit. Who is the real teacher. It was mentioned to him that everything discussed and the way it was discussed was basically out of the book “Preach My Gospel”. He told us the gospel is a way of living and not something we just talk about or tell people to do. He mentioned that the first presidency and quorum of the twelve wrote Preach My Gospel and because they did, he “jolly well better be Preach My Gospel.” That really stuck out to me. Am I Preach My Gospel? Has the atonement of Jesus Christ and His gospel had a big enough impact on me to change my nature, and be a witness of Christ in all that I do and say, and everywhere that I go (or does a black name tag (the wrong reason) do that for me)? Or is it currently doing so  Line upon Line? Am I producing enough faith through ACTING UPON and not WAITING FOR promptings and answers to prayers? Can I confidently say I am consistently living the way the Lord needs me to, so I may be an instrument in his hands in hastening the work of salvation?

Sorry, lot’s of questions were running through my head over the past few days. It’s really keeping me in check to give honest answers to myself to these questions and motivate me to give 100% to the Lord. If you learn anything from Elder Bednar, you’ll learn that we are Agents to act and not objects to be acted upon. And through the Atonement of Jesus Christ and firm faith in him, we will be free (agents) and not held captive (objects) to the influences of the adversary.

Elder Craig C. Christensen came to our sacrament meeting. Aurora is so cool, it’s right next to the airport so this is where all the general authorities stay when they come here.

IMG_1046

Holding the CDNM sledge … It comes to all our meetings.

So this week, we were able to teach a ton of good lessons. We were able to work really hard and see a ton of miracles. A lot of the people we are teaching seem really solid and willing to progress. One man, Paul, I especially enjoy teaching. He doesn’t like to be formal, he doesn’t like when the center of attention is on him, and he really doesn’t like to be pressured or feel like he is being pressured. As you could imagine it’s really hard to teach him and invite and commit him to do stuff to build his faith. So we are “teaching the Lessons” without “teaching the lessons”. Just principle by principle. It’s like having a normal conversation, but he feels the spirit and kinda comes to the conclusion that he needs to do something without us asking him to do it. It’s so cool! He’ll be ready for baptism in no time. His wife is a member, and their family is super cool.

We also taught Jeremy again! I was so stoked! The lesson went so well. He told us flat out that he felt the spirit, and he committed to read like 5 chapters and the introduction to the Book of Mormon. He is really taking receiving an answer seriously. So stoked to see him this week.

We found a family of five. They a from Burma, and speak Karen, Kuren? something like that. Their son who is 12 translated for us. The problem is… I don’t thing they make Book of Mormons in that language… So I don’t know what to do… They want to read it… Just thinking about it right now I think we will just have to read from an English one and have Ne Taw translate for us. The lesson went so well with them and the Spirit definitely made up for what we couldn’t communicate. it was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I never felt more peace than being in that home with them.

I know that the Lord guides this work. I know that this is HIS work. And that the Lord is using me as an instrument in his hands. I love to serve the Lord. It’s the greatest ever.

Love you all,

Elder Rusick

Leave a Reply

