Elder Layton Loves You! (so do I)

He goes home next week and told me to tell you all he loves you since he wont be in any of my updates anymore until I tell you all that he’s engaged 6 months from now and I’m invited to the wedding but unable to attend… I’ll miss the guy. He’s been with me since I got here.

Anyways, How are you all doing? I actually want you all to answer that by the way. Thanks for the letters and packages I got this week. It’s nice to be loved. I have anew bike. My ZL gave me his since he’s going home after next transfer and mine kept breaking. Maybe I’ll be in a car next week though, who knows? The Lord knows. This is week 6 this week so be ready to hear about week 6 miracles next week.

Today, I just want to talk about missionary work. Why we do it as apposed to why we think we do it sometimes. Sometimes we lose sight of the big picture. That Jesus Christ is our savior and we can partake of his everlasting mercy. Geez, we all can suck sometimes. If you are a member of the church you have probably felt the saving grace of the Lord at sometime and been at peace with the relief of your sins or something heavy that weighed you down in life. In other words… “But behold, he did deliver them because they did humble themselves before him; and because they cried mightily unto him he did deliver them out of bondage; and thus doth the Lord work with his power in all cases among the children of men, extending the arm of mercy towards them that put their trust in him.” (Mosiah 29:20) In a very awesome way my friend Andre describes this in symbolism as “the Cure for Cancer.” Or in other words something that would make a DRASTIC change in our lives, relief, hope, something that I’m sure would bring GREAT happiness in our lives. That is the Gospel of Jesus Christ. That is the Atonement. If in all honesty we can say that we love Jesus Christ, our Savior and Redeemer, then we need to feed his sheep. We are all his sheep, or children of God. We are all one big eternal family. We knew each other very well before this life, being BROTHERS and SISTERS. And it is very ideal that ALL of us return to the presence of the Father, He wants every last one of us to inherit all that he has. But the only way is to “come unto Christ and be perfected in him.” This is why we do missionary work. Because we are inviting those we love to partake of the fruits of Eternal Life. Something we have done and strive to continue to do.

I would invite you all to not only partake of the fruit of Eternal Life but to SHARE that fruit with our eternal family as well.

Love you all,

Elder Rusick

Leave a Reply

