Not too long today

Wussup Friends and Family,

Today is not a super long email because we had like 10 cancelled appointments this week. Welcome to Denver, Bruh. It was HOT this week. Not to mention I think we got made fun of more than ever this week, some people were just straight up mean! Also more doors slammed in our faces than ever. I think the heat has been making people short with us or maybe just the cold freezes their legs so they can’t get away. 🙂 Never mind though, it’s gonna take a little more than a slow week to get us discouraged. Nice try Satan.

Image

I know what your thinking, i didn’t know there were pelicans in Denver either….

This week we tracted into Paul S. He’s pretty big here… He’s one of the stars on the Colorado Avalanche. He’s also on the USA team. He’s kind of a big deal. He was really cool and humble though. But not interested. He’s Catholic and getting married pretty soon.

We also got a new investigator this week named James. To be honest he’s kind of weird and angry at the world. But I look forward to teaching him this Wednesday. He says he can see himself being baptized in the next month or so. But he needs a bit of a change of heart before that can happen. 

There is so much work to do here. The people here really need the gospel. They are all so lost and have no idea how or where to find themselves. It’s really sad, but that’s a reason why I’m here. I really have learned the importance of talking to everyone. There are 3 kinds of people in Denver. Those who have no idea who we are, those who think they are too awesome to talk to us so they yell at us from across the street and call us idiots and finally those who think they are not good enough or think that The grace of Christ is not enough for them. Just the other day we were waiting at a stop light and we saw three guys on motorcycles pull up and they all glanced at us and were talking. I couldn’t really make out what they were saying but right before they rode off one of them said to the others, “we’re just sinners.” It made me really sad to hear that. I really wish I could have talked to them or at least I wish I had said SOMETHING to them.

There is only one name by which we can be saved and that is Jesus Christ. Because of the Atonement we can change our nature for the better, he can change us, IF we let him. People are constantly changing and making decisions that either lead them Closer to Jesus Christ or further away. This is why I’m here, Because Jesus Christ has changed my life. Jesus Christ IS CHANGING my life and I have never been more happy in my life.

Love you all,

Elder Rusick

Leave a Reply

