Creative Subject…

Hey everyone!

How’s it going?  (Yes, I expect you to answer that). It’s been great for me! Even though I was sick a couple days. Luckily I didn’t give away that Niquil and Dayquil in the MTC with some of the other stuff I gave away. (sorry Mom) General Conference ROCKED! I liked it more than if the Dolphins were in the Super Bowl! If you didn’t watch, I would invite you to watch at my moms house, she probably has them all recorded. the address is 238 Pendio. It’s got me going, I heard everything I needed this weekend! Every speaker spoke to me it feels like. I’ll talk about that more later though. One funny thing that happened to me this week, a homeless man we were talking to said, “I really like your tie can I have it?” I was stunned, i had never been asked a question like that before, so I stood there and thought a moment and slid it off my neck and gave it to him. (he asked me to tie it for him, so I did) It was one of my favorite ties, He gave me the dirty bandana he was wearing for it.

I’m pretty sure Dan moved :/ I’m pretty bummed about that, he also wasn’t there for the last time we would be able to teach him… and then all our back up weren’t there either. So we were pretty discouraged at that point, when Elder Urianza said, “HEY, let’s stop by that guy we talked to last week!” That’s literally all we knew about him, we saw him last week and as he was riding away and asked if we could stop by another time and he said sure as he rode of into the distance. So we knocked on his door and there was no answer so we just stood on his porch and talked for about 5 minutes and what do you know, the door opened right as we were about to leave… WHAT!? RIGHT!? His name is Jim he’s a bike mechanic and he fixed my bike for free (I’ve been riding around Denver with broken brakes for 2 weeks… oops), He asked all sorts of question and told us to come back this week! He wanted a copy of the Book of Mormon. Super stoked to see him this week!

Also in this time we were supposed to be with Dan (Recent Convert), we saw Larry and his Lawyer, John, Walking around Wash Park. We stopped and talked to him and John had all sorts of questions. Larry is the best member missionary I’ve ever met. He is super on fire and Conference got him even more on fire, We have dinner tonight with him and he just informed us that he just invited John and he’s going to be there! #ThereIsNoSubsituteForMemberMissionaryWork

Michael L is slowly slipping away, and I don’t know what to do. He wouldn’t meet with us this week and he keeps going to his old church on Sundays now… He’s meeting with us on Thursday, I’ll tell you all how it goes next week.

So General Conference was so Awesome! The Prophets and Apostles of our day are telling us to step it up. My favorite talks were President Monson’s talk about Courage in priesthood session, also President Uchtdorf’s, the Restoration is not over yet, God reveals more to us through revelation all the time, We all play a part of the restoration, DON’T SLEEP THROUGH THE RESTORATION. Be who Heavenly Father wants you to be! There was another one about courage and over coming fear with faith. “All men have fear, but men who face their fears with faith in Jesus Christ, have courage as well. M.Russell Ballard, “Even primary children can be missionaries.” I’m totally AMPED for this week! It’s going to ROCK!

Things are changing in the Washington Park ward. It’s so awesome to see. 

Nothing brings me more joy than being a missionary, I don’t even miss surfing really anymore. It’s kinda wack. But it makes sense, This is the Lord’s work. As missionaries our purpose is to invite others to come unto Christ by helping them receive the restored gospel through faith in Jesus Christ and His Atonement, repentance, baptism, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end. These things are the things that have made my life happy and I know it will make others happy to feel the love of our Father in Heaven and also our Savior, Jesus Christ; and to know that because of that love there are greater things than this life that await us.

I love you all!

Elder Rusick

Leave a Reply

